Artist of the day Interview: Celeste Byers


Today im posting a long distance interview with who I would say is one of the moste aspiring young artist in California she works with a large diversity of techniques and styles fome funny photoshop to organic drawing to graphite and much more here is a little bit about Celeste and her art work hope you enjoy.

Me: What’s your name and age?

I’m Celeste Byers and I’m 21 years old.

Where were you born and raised?

Celeste: I was born in San Diego and grew up a few blocks up from Sunset Cliffs in Ocean Beach.

Me: Tell me a little bit about yourself. What happens in a normal 7-day week of Celeste?

Celeste: I just got back into school after taking a couple terms off to do some traveling and live in San Francisco so I’m finally getting back into a “normal” schedule. I go to school 4 days a week, I go on long bike rides frequently, try to hike when I can…I’ve been spending most of the time just sitting at my desk and drawing, seemingly constantly absorbing media, trying to produce a new body of work!

Me: How long have you been creating art and what would you say got you started?

Celeste: I was always really into drawing but I didn’t start taking drawing and creating work seriously until my senior year of high school when my college counselor asked me what I wanted to study in college. I didn’t have an answer for him so he asked me what I liked to do and I told him I liked to draw so he told me I could go to college to study art. I did some research on art schools, got serious about preparing a portfolio, and have been creating work ever since.

Me: What kind of style or mix of styles would you say your art is?

Celeste: Hard to say about my old work but my new stuff feels like organically influenced psychedelia.

Me: What techniques do you use in you art? I see you also do sculptures

Celeste: I use a lot of gouache, sometimes ink, sometimes acrylic. I’ve been using a lot of graphite recently. I carved that 3 foot tall sculpture out of foam. I’ve made little things out of sculpey. I’ve done printmaking. I recently built a lightbox and learned how to do the electronic wiring. Sometimes I sew on my work to create patterns or to stitch paper together. I’ve used the little balls from the inside of my friend’s pills in sculpture. I use things I find on the ground and plants I collect. I’m up for trying whatever!

Me:Who inspires you and what inspires you about them?

Celeste: David Attenborough is one of the coolest people that has ever lived! If you don’t know who he is, he’s the narrator for Planet Earth. He’s been doing nature videos since the 60’s and has gone all around the world doing what he loves and sharing his fascinating encounters with the natural world.

Me: What is your definition of art?

Celeste: Any form of expression that creates or portrays experience.

Me: Name 5 artist you like.

Celeste: Eric Yahnker, Louis Bourgeois, Charles Irvin, Mati Klarwein, Jan Svankmajer

Me: What art oriented Schooling have you done and explain a little how it affected your style?

Celeste: I’ve been studying Illustration at Art Center College of Design in Pasadena for the past 3 years and I plan on graduating next spring. I wouldn’t say art school has affected my style as much as it has the quality and volume of the work I’ve produced. I’ve had awesome classes where I’ve learned to take my ideas and create something I never could have imagined creating. Some teachers push you to create something different than what’s already out there and being around talented people creating great work pushes you to work harder.

Me: From the work I have seen, you have a very diverse style of art, explain how that works if you can.

Celeste: It kind of has to do with what mood I’m in and how I want the piece to feel. Sometimes I feel like playing with color, sometimes I feel like drawing simply, sometimes I’m in the mood to render, sometimes I want to make little people out of clay. Every day’s different and every day I work I do what I feel and even though pieces look different I feel you can tell they came from me.

Me: I feel you have some similarity with Aurel Schmidt are you familiar with her work? How do you fell about that?

Celeste: Awesome, I guess I can see the organic and detail oriented similarities.

Me: Do you have any advice for aspiring artists?

Celeste: Work hard! Seriously.

More of Celestes Rad Work on her Blog CLICK HEAR!!!

Leave a Reply

